Paston Sixth Form College Awards Evening 2015 Kevin Grieve welcomed over 200 students and their parents to a packed St Nicholas Church, North Walsham on the evening of Thursday 10th September. He told the audience “It had been a brilliant year for the College with the students achieving some of our best ever A level and BTEC results.” In his address, Kevin thanked all the teaching, support staff, students and parents for their hard work over the last two years.

He was particularly pleased with a 98% A level pass rate and a 100% pass rate on BTEC courses. The results at A level included an incredible A*-B pass rate of 49% and an A*-C rate of 75%.In BTEC 67% of the students achieved high grades with many students achieving triple star distinction level.

“It is not surprising that over 250 students are going to University after A level and BTEC courses, with over 15% going on to top Russell Group Universities and a record 6 students gaining places to Oxford and Cambridge. All over the country Universities will be receiving some talented people from Norfolk” said the Principal.
He also celebrated the number of students going straight in to employment and apprenticeships. He said “many have been highly ambitious and secured some fantastic opportunities in a range of industries such as retailing, finance, I.T, engineering and science. He spoke about how the Futures Event held at the College in July, which attracted over 20 Universities, including Oxford, Warwick, Southampton and UEA and over 40 different employers from the region, had inspired students to be ambitious with their career choices.

The guest speaker Mark Bruhin founder and Managing Director of Beacon East had been instrumental in organising the Futures event. Mark spoke to students about their career paths and making the right choices. He gave tips to students on meeting the challenges of the work places, particularly with the pace of changing technology. He then presented the certificates and prizes to all the students including over 90 Norfolk County Scholars. These students had achieved ABB grades or better at A level and distinctions on their BTEC courses. Students enjoyed the citations from teachers who explained the reasons for the awards. Special prizes included the Ivan Palfry Cup presented to Yasmin Mantell by Ted Gadsden for the Rotary Club and also the Kristopher Harper prize to Ciara Simpson for outstanding academic achievement during their first year of study. The Paston Sportsperson of the year was awarded to Danni Garwood.

“Once again the Awards Evening has been a brilliant success” said Kevin Grieve.

Award winners:-

Paston College Foundation Prizes:-

Chloe Lee Social Science (Economics)
Jason Laney Social Science (Geography)
Ruth Avey Social Science (Sociology)
Martha Crass Social Science (Government & Politics)
Elise Page Social Science (English Literature)
Millie Goslyn-Jones Social Science (French)
Jasper Haywood Social Science (History)
Emily Rowland Arts & Technology (Art)
Reece Bullock Arts &Technology (BTEC Media)
Megan Bailes Arts & Technology (Performance Studies)
Josh Duckmanton Arts & Technology (Drama)
Kirsten Featherstone Arts & Technology (Photography)
Nathan Barnes Arts & Technology (Photography)
Katie Newman Arts & Technology (Graphics)
Frederick Gamble Science (Physics)
Jenna Hatch Science (Biology & Chemistry)
Nicholas Hewetson Science (Biology & Chemistry)
Anna Szulfer Science (Psychology)
Sophie Wilkinson Science (Physical Education)
Samuel Webb Science (Mathematics)
Alasdair Ford Science (Health & Social Care)

Ivan Palfrey Cup (Rotary) – Yasmin Mantell
Kristopher Harper Prize for academic achievement by a first year student – Ciara Simpson
The Arnolds Keys Cup for Drama and Performance – Charlie Randall
Paston Sportsperson of the Year – Danni Garwood

Norfolk County Scholars:-
Becky Ali, Keiran Corbett, Nicholas Hewetson, Ellie Rix, Nathan Amies, Martha Crass, Jenny Hull, Emily Rowland, Marie Andrews, Dan Cresswell, Alisha Hunt, Emily Sellick, Rachel Appleby, Sophie Crook, Shannon Jode, Catherine Setchfield, Yasmin Atthill, Eve Davies, Daniel Johnson, Ollie Simons, Ruth Avey, Dominic Davison, Nathan Jones, Nat Smith, Nathan Barnes, Edward Deane, Alex Kearns, Issy Snell, Alice Barney, Holly Dennison, Molly Kerkham, Heather Snowden, Olivia Bayfield, Hannah Donoghue, Ross Knapman, Jack Southgate, Gregor Beard, Abigail Dowe, Megan Knights, Andrew Stringer, Hannah Billman, Josh Duckmanton, Chloe Lee, Anna Szulfer, Pryce Brazier, Mary Elkin, Georgina Lester, Shaun Taylor, Reece Bullock, Beth Fielder, Adam Lodge, Tallie Taylor, Ben Bumphrey, Alasdair Ford, Hollie Luesby, Melie Tims, Hannah Butterfield, Cameron Fuller, Hannah Mason, Stephen Tovell, Joshua Clark, Craig Gilbert, Emily McLaren, Will Turner, Laura Clark, Millie Goslyn-Jones, Laurine Mellows, Harry Twining, Sophie Clark, Alastair Grand, Lorna Miller-Fik, Izzi Walsh, Kirsty Clarke, Christian Green, Katie Newman, Abbie Walters, Joseph Clarke-Blomfield, Joshua Hall, Elise Page, Samuel Webb, Megan Coe, Molly Harris, Atlanta Penrose, Sophie Wiggins, Sophie Coles, Jenna Hatch, Shannon Plews, Sophie Wilkinson,
Coutney Cooper, Jasper Haywood, Charlie Randall, Nicole Williams, Eleanor Hepburn, Shannon Ratcliffe, Samuel Wright.

« All News