Paston Sixth Form College Awards Evening 2016 Kevin Grieve welcomed over 200 students and their parents to a packed St Nicholas Church, North Walsham on the evening of Thursday 15th September. He told the audience, “It had been a brilliant year for the College with the students achieving some of our best ever A level and BTEC results.” In his address, Kevin spoke about the excellent Ofsted report the College received in January 2016 and thanked all the staff and students for their contribution to the success.  

He was particularly pleased with a 98.4% A level pass rate and a 100% pass rate on BTEC courses. The results at A level included an incredible A*-B pass rate of 50% and an A*-C rate of 78%.  In BTEC 60% of the students achieved high grades with many students achieving triple star distinction level.

 “It is not surprising that over 200 students are going to University after A level and BTEC courses, with over 15% going on to top Russell Group Universities including Oxbridge. All over the country Universities will be receiving some talented people from Norfolk” said the Principal.

He also celebrated the number of students going straight in to employment and apprenticeships. He said, “many have been highly ambitious and secured some fantastic opportunities in the local area. 

The guest speaker this year was Professor Susan J Smith, Mistress of Girton College, Cambridge. She spoke to students about their career paths and having the ambition, confidence and determination to aim for the very best. She made the point that through hard work anyone can achieve their dreams. Then she presented the certificates and prizes to all the students including over 80 Norfolk County Scholars. These students had achieved ABB grades or better at A level and distinctions on their BTEC courses. Students enjoyed the citations from teachers who explained the reasons for the awards. Special prizes included the Ivan Palfrey Cup presented to Oliver Church by Ted Gadsden for the Rotary Club and also the Kristopher Harper prize to Toby Watts for outstanding academic achievement during his first year of study. The Paston Sportsperson of the year was awarded to Kate Sawyer. The Arnolds Keys Cup for Drama and Performance was awarded to Hazel Needham. A new prize, the David Acott prize for Creative and Media, was presented by Janet Acott and awarded to Jack Gunn.

“Once again the Awards Evening has been a brilliant success” said Kevin Grieve.

Award winners:-

Paston College Foundation Prizes:

Jak Carey- Social Science (Geography)
Amy Farrow- Social Science (Sociology)
Hazel Needham- Social Science (Business)
Ciara Simpson- Social Science (Law)
Emily Knight- Social Science (English Language/Literature)
Nathan Price- Social Science (English Literature)
Elizabeth Fruish- Social Science (French)
Madelene Slade- Social Science (History)
Lauren Meiszner- Arts &Technology (Graphics)
Charlotte Ware- Arts & Technology (Performance Studies)
Bethany Adams- Arts & Technology (Fine Art)
Samuel Mack- Arts & Technology (Creative & Media)
Kate Wolstenholme- Arts & Technology (Photography)
Adam Walford- Arts & Technology (ICT)
Hope Paganini- Science (Physics)
Benjamin Austrin- Science (Biology)
Peter Setchfield- Science (Chemistry)
Chloe Higenbottam- Science (Psychology)
Jodie Levins- Science (Physical Education)
Abigail Riley- Science (Mathematics)
Laura Smith- Science (Health & Social Care)

Special prizes:

Ivan Palfrey Cup – Oliver Church
Kristopher Harper Prize – Toby Watts
Arnolds Keys Cup – Hazel Needham
Paston Sportsperson of the year – Kate Sawyer
David Acott prize – Jack Gunn

Norfolk County Scholars:

Bethany Adams, Bejamin Austin, Annie Baldwin, Milly Barton, Freya Boswell, Freya Boswell, Beth Brabbins, Rosie Branford, Lucy Bristow, Catherine Broster, Kiera Brown, Jessica Buxton, Jak Carey, Chloe Chandler, Oliver Church, Laura Clabon, Stan Clarke, Lauren Cotton, Bret Demmen, Freja Duncan-Coates, Calum Ecroyd , Cerian Ellson, Amy Farrow, Meg Ferrin, Hope Fincham, Elizabeth Fruish, Flora Gair, Hannah German, Anna Gibson, Charlotte Griffin, Phoebe Hagan, Ryan Hales, Gemma Harris, Chloe Higenbottam, Matthew Ing, Josiah Jordan, Michael Jordison, Emily Knight, Isabelle Lattaway, Jodie Levins, Samuel Mack, James Macleod, Nicola Malloupa, Danielle Martin, Lauren Meiszner, Jake Morris, Hazel Needham, Connor Newstead, Hope Paganini, Idris Phillips-Fry, Tamara Pinsent, Nathan Price, Bethany Richardson, Abigail Riley, Georgina Rowe, Megan Sales, Peter Setchfield, Thomas Sheridan, James Shirtcliff, Poppy Shorten, Ciara Simpson, Madelene Slade, Ruth Sloper, Abbie Smith, Laura Smith, Jamie Spooner, Lucy Spurdens, Katharine Stanjer, Kate Tebble, Robert Thirst, Katie Thompson, Francesca Tray, Jordan Truong, Charlotte Ware, Alicia Williamson, Oliver Williamson, Kate Wolstenholme, Molly Wones, Owen Woodcock, Catrina Wooldridge, Amy Wright and Jordanna Yeo

« All News