Who is this qualification for?

The Pearson BTEC National Diploma in Sport and Exercise Science is intended to be an Applied General qualification. The qualification is equivalent in size to two A Levels, is a full two-year programme and normally is studied alongside a further Level 3 qualification

What does this qualification cover?

The qualification gives learners the knowledge, understanding and skills that underpin the sport and exercise science sector to prepare them for further study or training at a higher level.

You will study six mandatory content areas:

  • Applied Research Methods in Sport and Exercise Science
  • Applied Sport and Exercise Psychology
  • Coaching for Performance and Fitness
  • Field and Laboratory-based Fitness Testing
  • Functional Anatomy
  • Sport and Exercise Physiology.

Optional units have been designed to support progression to a range of sector-related courses in higher education, and to link with relevant occupational areas.

The optional content areas include:

  • Biomechanics in Sport and Exercise Science
  • Physical Activity for Individual and Group-based Exercise
  • Research Project in Sport and Exercise Science
  • Sociocultural Issues in Sport and Exercise
  • Specialised Fitness Training
  • Sports Massage.

What could this qualification lead to?

This qualification is primarily designed to support progression to employment after further study at university. However, it also supports students who wish to progress directly to employment, as the transferable knowledge, understanding and skills will give you an advantage in applying for a range of entry level roles or ‘school leaver’ industry training programmes and Higher Apprenticeships in areas such as sport and fitness training, coaching, and sports performance research.

The qualification is intended to carry UCAS points and is recognised by higher education providers as meeting admission requirements for many relevant sports and sport-related courses.

How does the qualification provide employability skills?

In the BTEC National units there are opportunities during the teaching and learning phase to give

learners practice in developing employability skills. Where employability skills are referred to in this specification, we are generally referring to skills in the following three main categories:

  • Cognitive and problem-solving skills: use critical thinking, approach non-routine problems applying expert and creative solutions, use systems and technology.
  • Intrapersonal skills: communicating, working collaboratively, negotiating and influencing, self-presentation
  • Interpersonal skills: self-management, adaptability and resilience, self-monitoring and development.

There are also specific requirements in some units for assessment of these skills where relevant.

For example, where learners are required to undertake real or simulated activities.